top of page

It's Time To Staff Surf!

It seems like the last 2 years have been amazing for the 3D Platformer fans out there. First you get the release of Yooka-Laylee by Playtonic games in April of last year, then just mere months later Crash Bandicoot re-emerges with Crash Bandicoot N.Sane Trilogy. Not to mention A Hat In Time by Gears For Breakfast and the impending release of Spyro Reignited Trilogy. But that's far from it, this is the resurrection of a genre after all. That's why today I want to bring your attention to a little know game from Jonas Manke called, Omno.

Omno is a 3D Platformer, featuring a minimal art style and a cute protagonist. In my opinion the art style and light based puzzles are reminiscent of Thatgamecompany's 2012 smash hit, Journey. Omno has many different environments to explore ranging anywhere from a sun scorched desert, to an icy tundra and even a weird robotic limbo.

Not only do you traverse these beautiful lands on foot but you can also ride your staff like a surf board (which is so damn cool!) and use an awesome dash ability as well.

The biggest pull to any Platformer for me isn't its art style or puzzle mechanics, but it's characters. Even though I've only seen the protagonist in Omno I'm still sold on it. He reminds me of 9 in the movie 9 (which makes absolutly no sense if you don't know what I'm talking about) especially when solving puzzles.

Omno is being developed by a single person studio called Studio Inkyfox. So I would absolutely recommend that if you want to see this game meet it's full potential as much as I do. Check out their Facebook page here and follow Omno's development here.

bottom of page