top of page

Dysentery May Be Inevitable...

Recently I watched Cast Away and thought to myself. "Man that looks like a lot of fun!" Obviously that's a lie, because that would figuratively and possibly literally suck big monkey nuts. But why not entertain the idea? If you washed up on a deserted island what would you do? And do you think that you could actually survive? I would die within days! My list of practical skills reads "can fold tongue like a taco" and "can recite most of the lyrics to Rupert Holmes, Escape". For better or worse, soon you and I will have the chance to test our metal in Island by Wanders.

Island is a punishing strategy game, in which you wash up on a deserted island in the pacific. Like most survival games you must fend off hunger and thirst. But as an added sadistic bonus you must also fight off madness and crippling loneliness as well. Island has a interesting retro aesthetic that I can't say I've seen recently. With the exception of point and click adventures such as Terrible Toybox's, Thimbleweed Park and even that's a leap.

My personal favorite part of Island's design is the inclusion of sanity as an obstacle. There are a litany of survival games on the market, but very few of them include this feature. Which is an absolute shame! After getting my hands on Red Hook Studios's, Darkest Dungeon I grew to love navigating the issue of my character's mental health.

This game is obviously being crafted with love by a team of table top RPG fans and crushing difficulty addicts. Island is heading to Kickstarter on July 9th. With amazing rewards ranging from, your name in the credits, all the way to creating in game items and symptoms. Island is intended for PC, Nintendo Switch and 3DS with PS4 and Xboxone as stretch goals. So if you're a Darkest Dungeon or Dark Souls fan and you want to see if you can kill an alligator with your bare hands consider supporting Island.

To follow Island and it's development click here and to support Island and get cool rewards click here.

bottom of page